The relationship between what's in your mouth, on your face, and how much you smile

Lemon Yogurt Mini-Cakes on City Bandit

In Recipe on September 2, 2010 at 23:22

Once upon a time, I made lemon yogurt mini-cakes.  

It’s been a while, but here’s the recipe

This is a spin-off of a classic French everyday cake.  I learned the recipe back when I was an exchange student in France from my host mother.  She made one of these cakes about every week, and I absolutely adored them.  They were so light and fluffy, not too sweet.  You could eat it as a snack, dessert, with cream or chocolate or berries; it didn’t matter, it was so versatile.

I find that making this cake in Canada, it works best in muffin tins.  I don’t know, maybe it is the consistency of the yogurt that we have here or something, but every time I’ve tried to make this cake in a cake pan, it always ends up turning into a tough and chewy mess.  In muffin tins however, they rise beautifully and have the most gorgeous golden colour.  

The recipe that I made for City Bandit includes a cheery lemon glaze for you to pour over the cakes, in case you wanted them to be sweeter and more dessert-like.  

I made these again when I visited my parents in August, except I nixed the lemon glaze for my health-nut father.  Instead, I topped them with a sprinkle of icing powder and some sliced lemons.  

Mmm. These cakes are one of the only times I would ever justify a grown woman using the word “Yum-o”.

  1. Have you tried using Liberte plain yogurt? I use it to make my Gateau au Citron and it gives me great results.

  2. Actually, exactly what I use is Liberté yogurt! I have used it plain before but actually prefer buying the vanilla one just for extra flavour. But it is the best :)

Leave a comment